Thu, Sep 24

|

Online Event

Braiding Ways of Knowing

Reconciling Ways of Knowledge series

Registration is Closed
See other events
Braiding Ways of Knowing

Time & Location

Sep 24, 2020, 10:30 AM – 12:00 PM

Online Event

About the Event

We invite you to join us for a dialogue via Zoom on Thursday, September 24 at 8:30 am Pacific / 10:30 am Central / 12:30 pm Atlantic (for approximately an hour and a half).

Register at: https://www.waysofknowingforum.ca/episode3

Known for her award-winning books Gathering Moss: A Natural & Cultural History of Mosses and Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teaching of Plants, amongst many other ways in which she has had an impact as a teacher, researcher, and writer, Dr. Robin Wall Kimmerer will speak in dialogue with friend, colleague, renowned ethnobotanist and moderator Dr. Nancy Turner on the theme of Braiding Ways of Knowing.

The dialogue will proceed in three stages: First, Drs. Wall Kimmerer and Turner will discuss how Dr. Wall Kimmerer has found Indigenous and scientific ways of knowing can be braided together in her work on the role of traditional ecological knowledge in ecological restoration and the ecology of mosses. Then, second, fellow Reconciling Ways of Knowing project founders Miles Richardson, O.C., Dr. David Suzuki, and Elder Dr. Dave Courchene, Jr. will join Dr. Turner in the dialogue with Dr. Wall Kimmerer to connect her findings and reflections from her work to the objective of the Reconciling Ways of Knowing project to facilitate pathways for building better relationships across ways of knowing and for creating better stewardship outcomes together. And finally, the floor will be opened to registering participants to ask Dr. Wall Kimmerer or any of the project founders questions about how they can apply the considerations from the discussion on braiding ways of knowing to their work and engagement in community.

This is a ticketed event to cover the costs